Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. I've been reading different threads on here for a few months, debating about posting my marital issues but haven't had to the courage to do so until now.

I am a full time student and I work part time. My husband works full time and is a part time student.

Long story short, my husband and I (late 20s) have been together for about a decade and married for just over one year. I was a strong believer in the "marriage doesn't change anything" philosophy, as we lived together for three years before we got married and the first seven months after the wedding felt exactly the same. Then we started having problems dealing with my in-laws constantly calling him to fix things at their place to the extent that it was taking a great amount of time away from us. Being the project oriented, Mr. Fix-it man that DH is, and I knew this going in, he would never turn them down. He has always helped his family in the past, and I was happy that he could, so they didn't have to spend extra money. But before he was able to maintain a balance between work, school, me and his family. Now it has become abundantly clear that they are and will always be his number one priority.

We have no children and plan to wait a few more years until we start trying. But I told him that if this pattern continues that I do not feel comfortable having children if he is going to be over at his parents house constantly, leaving me to tend to children all the time.