Talk About Marriage banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this topic but here it goes..

My daughter is considering joining the National Guard and I am not sure of my feelings on this. She is a senior in high school and will be turning 18 soon. She has also been in the JROTC program for the past 4 years and currently holds 2 of the top five positions in the program. I have little experience in dealing with the military. Of course my main concern is her safety. Another concern is her not liking it and wanting out but being stuck until her service date expires. One of her reasons for wanting to do this is for the extra $ for college and I am not convinced that her reasons for enlisting are the right reasons. She has enough savings and scholarships to attend college already but wants to attend a more expensive school of her choosing. While I couldn't be more proud of her for taking great strides toward her future, I am also very nervous about her path choice. Anyone have experience or advice on how I can help her make a more informed decision?

·
Registered
634 Posts
I would just support her decision. There are plenty of young men and women out there that have no sense of direction when the graduate from high school. And to be blunt the job market sucks right now. It is hard enough for experienced adults to get jobs, can you imagine being fresh out of high school and trying to gain employment.

Here are some positives to look at:
1. She has 4 yrs of ROTC behind her which can get her higher pay upon joining.
2. She will be earning money, while being able to attend some college classes.
3. The maturity and discipline she will learn will carry on through out her life.
4. She will gain some form of job skills while earning that money.
5. Upon completion of her service, she will have a GI Bill that will keep her from obtaining student loan debt.