Talk About Marriage banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I am very new to this and I need some advice and possibly support. I will get into the details as we go but for now I will say that I am considerably older than my husband and we live with our 10 year old daughter (who is technically not my child, I am her stepmother but I have been in her life since she was born). A couple of hours ago my husband informed me that he cheated on me and now she's pregnant. He says that "it got to him that everyone around him is having babies and he wants a son" so even though it's wrong he did what he did. Years ago we had discussed and agreed to adopt but around four years ago he changed his mind and decided it would not be the same, he wanted one from his own "seed". I love children and would have loved to have one with him but that's not possible and he's known this since we first started dating. Anyway... A little more than a year ago we nearly split up because his ex wife told me that when he and she were going to court for their divorce (six years ago) on the day it was final they had sex with talk of wanting another child. Keep in mind they appear to "STRONGLY dislike" one another. I stayed with him because 1) he came clean and told me before I could say anything 2) he seemed sincere in his apologies 3) it had happened years ago and 4) I knew that since we got married he goes out of his way to avoid being alone anywhere she is when we're in town. All of that being said... I love him very much but trust is definitely broken and I don't think I can trust him going forward. I think about the times he all but accused me of entertaining other men or the attention from other men... I would say jealousy definitely reared its ugly head even to the point where he ran off a customer because he felt like the customer was trying to get my attention. I used to explain the difference between being friendly and doing my job versus being fl