Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
Im new to this, so not sure what to say...

I believe my wife has a Border Line Personality Disorder and this causes Financial and emotional hardships on our family.
I can explain more if needed, but basically I think it's time to Freeze our accounts, since she really can't stop spending our money and has refused to take on a job to bring in more income.

We still have one 13 year old child at home and after looking into Divorce and ongoing support payments, I don't see any way of supporting two households (wife not willing or able to work). Is it legally possible to live in same house legally and be separated legally? What I want to do is Freeze the accounts, so that I am not responsible for her spending any longer?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Is there a reason why she can't work? Honestly, freezing the accounts is a good idea. It would help on her not spending so much money. Have you considered opening an account, just in your name and start putting money aside? Maybe putting her on an allowance. I mean if she doens't want to get a job, it's only fair.

·
Registered
1,945 Posts
You may want to talk to a lawyer about a legal separation because she may open up credit cards once you cut off her spending & you will be responsible for her debt.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
No reason why she can't work other than being able to get along with people. I did setup a separate account and give allowance for home expenses, problem is that she uses credit cards and has access to all accounts because banks give her access because she is my wife. I have contacted attorney's about divorce and separation, but not about continuing to live in same house. I thought someone here might know if that is possible?

·
Registered
571 Posts
I believe my wife has a Border Line Personality Disorder and this causes Financial and emotional hardships on our family.