Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)

Background

We are 39 and 37 with almost 5 yrs. old DD. I moved to the US for grad studies in 2003 and got married in 2011. My W moved after the marriage. I have an old post http://talkaboutmarriage.com/considering-divorce-separation/120538-my-wifes-split-personality-vs-my-family.html. That post is a lot about how we cannot communicate. She might have BPD but I am not a doctor. She is great until she is angry. Her anger is like a storm.

I came to realization 3 years back. Suck it or leave it. I choose to suck it up. Two reasons - i) I get panic attacks just thinking about divorcing my W. Too weak - I know! ii) I know my W cannot take care of my DD. But she is not as crazy that I can just take away my DD. I also do not want my DD to separate from her M. I want my D to be able to see us both although in two houses.

Now
I am in a marriage where I am not able to maintain the connection/communication with my family/friends. She does not allow to take my DD to meet my family in my home country. Every time I raise this topic - it brings a storm. She has a million reasons why not. I argued, requested, fought to take my DD. But in vain. We went back in Dec 2015. She with DD to her place - I flew to mine. While coming I picked them up and came back to the states.

Though, I bought my parents and brother to States to meet DD in Summer 2016. Kept them in a separate apartment.

Since then we have not gone back.

In short, my DD has never gone to see my extended family. I cannot bring my family to visit me like other people do. I cannot go to my home country without much drama. This brings to realization - I should just get done with it. I am just fooling myself. Sucking up sucks!

So