Talk About Marriage banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

Super Moderator
Discussion Starter #1
I was wondering how many of you have compatible lifestyles with your partner, and to the extent you don't has that been a problem?

I'm extremely athletic. I've been running for 31 years and am still clearing 35-50 miles per week. I like to race, and in my mid 40's am still known to win the women's overall in a race here and there. Women, including younger women, have approached me for advice.

I also ride bikes and am known to hang with the 23 mph and up guys. I have a 3rd degree black belt and try to lift some weights at least once a week.

I truly do not intend to pat my own back here, only to pain a picture of my lifestyle.

My current partner rides bikes with me and is also health conscious. He's not as gung ho as me but few people are. That's ok because I feel like our lifestyles are compatible. As he's a type 1 diabetic he has different dietary restrictions, but he's quite disciplined. And he lifts....he's a big guy.

I feel like someone who wasn't health conscious wouldn't be s good fit for me, and I know I wouldn't respect it

So what say you? Has this been am issue in your relationship?

On a side note bf has lost a bit of weight since he met me and is getting compliments on how good he looks. There's nothing like a woman in a guy's life to motivate him...especially if she's a crazy redhead :)

But seriously, I think we're just good influences in each other.

Registered
Mrs. Conan and I are definitely compatible when it comes to health and exercise. She is by far the harder worker when it comes to physical exertion and determination while I get by on average work combined with what my momma gave me. I refer to them as "brick" genes. I barely look at weights, bikes or other exercise gear and muscles jump out of me.

She is also far more disciplined and educated about diet.

We are different in other areas but our core values and beliefs are the same.