Talk About Marriage banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone! This is my first post to these forums. I'm glad that there are people out there willing to help and be helped by others!

To give you the just of my situation, I am 25, as is my boyfriend of nearly 3 years (this February). We have lived together since last November. He works full-time and I work part-time and go to graduate school full time. Needless to say, we are both busy individually.

Anyways, the problem I am having with him is not new. He is a very rational, solution-focused, wants-to-research-everything-for-months-before-he-buys, kind of unemotional, flat, down to earth, relaxed guy, altough he is very type-A and can be really anal about stuff. I'm a graduate student and have been in therapy for years now, working on my emotional growth. When we met, I thought "oh, he's just quiet, he'll open up eventually".

Well, here we are almost 3 years later and I literally have to pull teeth to get him to talk about what he is feeling. Whenever I am upset about something, he tries to give me solutions, when all I want is some validation of my feelings and to know he understands me. I have spoken with him on numerous occasions, not just when I am upset, about what I would like from him in the emotional department. He gets very defensive at that point, even though I am telling him what I NEED from HIM, not demanding him to do something. I think that is a reasonable request, especially considering the list of things he would like me to do (like do my dishes more often or take out the trash when it's full).