Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here, really enjoying these forums. :smthumbup:

My question is, can a relationship or marriage survive long term without a spark or deep emotional connection?

DH and I have been together for 7 years, married 2 1/2. He was my first for a lot of things - love, long term relationship, etc - but not my first relationship or partner. We met when I was 20, he is 4 1/2 years older. He is a wonderful husband, attentive, affectionate, physically attractive, a great provider, very driven to succeed, etc. My parents and his are both still happily together and have been great role models, although we both feel the pressure not to "fail" as a couple because of this too.

However aside from the initial excitement, I have never felt a huge 'spark'. We have started to try and spice up our sex life but for many years it was quite dull, I can count on one hand the times I have "gotten there" in the last 4-5 years with him. By myself is no problem. He has never WOW'ed me in bed, but not having much experience before him I didn't fully understand how important a satisfying sex life was. I'm definitely the more adventurous and dominant one. We are working on it but it seems to be slow progress and still rarely a finish for me...could this be from a lack of connection for me? Will it always be this way?