Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i started a previous thread early in the summer concerning this topic but couldn't find it.
I've been bulking for 3 months and have seen some results. however I've been lifting through a muscle injury for awhile now and am going to take a break for a week to let it heal (it also coincides with extra time at work that won't allow for lifting).
my question is should i still go on my full bulking diet (calorie surplus heavy on protein) or scale it back on this week off?
also I've noticed some gains in the gym are leveling off and am certain something is off in my routine. i lift 3 days a week (Monday chest arms, Tuesday legs, Friday shoulder back) with incorporating as much compound movements as possible. i know my form is off and have a propensity to lift heavier sacrificing my form. i always try to lift to failure ( no spotter though) but im rarely sore anymore. i also do 25+ plus sets, which has a variety of opinions. im leaning towards a different routine all together which would go to 4 days a week (Monday lower body Tuesday upper body Wednesday off Thursday lower Friday upper).

·
Registered
840 Posts
I would say hold off on your calorie intake if you aren't training.
Like, eat a little over maintanence.

Also, 25+ sets?!?
How long do you spend in the gym? 2 hours?

I do no more than 15 sets. But that is just me personally...

Sounds like you are trying to build strength.
Strength is what a lumberjack needs so he can swing an axe at a tree all day.
You want resistance so you can pack on some gains!

I would suggest maybe lower your set count, up your weight, and do that for a month. See where it gets you.