Talk About Marriage banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I didn't actually break an agreement with my husband but I think the fact that I thought about changing it hurt him more than he's letting on. I know everyone's views and marriages are different but I wanted to get some perspective on my situation before I approach the subject again with my H.

Here's the situation:

we agreed that we would try for a baby after I got my masters degree, which will happen in the spring. The plan was that I would take a few years off (I currently work part time) once I became pregnant and also stay home the first year or so.

The problem is that I recently got a great job offer that will be available this summer. When I told my husband about this, he was not thrilled, but he was willing to talk about it, and its caused some tension. Of course, I'm not taking the job, but I can't say that I'm not disappointed a bit. And I think that's where majority of the issue lies. He feels as though my thinking about the job means that I wanted to put him and our family second to my career or that this was about money since he is the bread winner. I tried to get him to see that this was more about personal fulfillment for me. I had to work really hard to get my degrees, so it was really exciting to get an offer that I didn't even apply for.

I didn't know I would feel this way or that this would be an issue because until the job offer came around I was (and I still am)excited about about adding to our family.This would be our first baby together, but we have two girls and his nephew.

Taking the job would have set us back a few years putting me at 34 or 35 at the most it so makes more sense to continue with our orginal plan but I think the damage has been done.