Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My husband says his BP meds are making him have a decreased sex drive, along with other things..... anyone else having the same issues and can sympathize.....? And if so, what did you do to fix it or help the situation...? Thanks!!!!
Posted via Mobile Device

·
Registered
44 Posts
I'm not a doctor, but uncontrolled high blood pressure if a life-threatening condition. Even worse, it could cause a stroke where one doesn't die and has to be taken care of forever.

Sexual problems are a well-known side-effect of blood pressure medications. It is very important that you or your husband report these side-effects to his doctor so that the doctor can help you deal with this problem.

This is a medical problem that has a medical solution. Your doctor is the right person to be asking for help.

I am a life insurance broker. High BP when controlled with meds is not a rateable condition (ie the company will not raise the price on you because of high bp if it's under control). But at application time the life insurer is extra diligent in determining if the client is truly under control with meds and that the client is a "good" patient in terms of sticking to his bp meds. One major reason for this is because the sexual side-effects are so well-known when it comes to bp drugs. These sexual side-effects result in a greater-than-usual rate of non-compliance with following the doctor's instructions with respect to taking bp meds.

I am confident that a simple conversation with the doctor will result in a tweak to the treatment plan with the aim of getting your sex-life back in gear.

Talk to the doctor tomorrow.

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #3