Talk About Marriage banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I'll try to keep things brief. I'm new to TAM, so forgive me if I don't use all the abbreviations! Also, I am FIRMLY committed to making my marriage work and have absolutely no desire to divorce my wife. If the advice you're going to give is "Run!" or "Divorce her!", please don't bother. I am looking for honest advice about how to do something very difficult, not take what I believe in my case, is the easy way out. I have forgiven her for cheating on me, but I cannot forgive her (yet) for the years of lying and manipulation.

My wife cheated in 2007. I found out about it in 2011. When I confronted her, she of course lied about everything. I showed her the proof, and she continued to lie. The continued lies made me think there might be more going on, so I continued digging. My fears were proven correct, so I went back to her with more proof. She admitted only to what proof I had, but was obviously lying about other things. So... I continued digging... and found more. Every time I would go back to her with more evidence, she would admit little bits of the truth, but not everything.

In short, I have come to the point where I am no longer going to go back to her with proof. I want her to come to me and show that she is remorseful and can be an honest person. I feel that if I have to continually show her the proof just to get her to tell the truth, I will ALWAYS have to be digging just so that I feel like I can trust her. I have proof of EVERYTHING she did with the other guy. I have told her that I have proof, but I have not shown her the specifics. Obviously, she thinks I'm bluffing and am just trying to trick her into admitting everything.