Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm a creative writer who self published a romance novel recently, and I've started writing a second book with the same characters. This is getting to be a problem for me, though! :(

Now, as soon as I say 'romance novel' and 'affair' with my male character, you might start assuming "Mr. Studly Bad-Boy-Swashbuckling Pirate Anti-Hero." No, not at all! My characters in my novels are not 'fantasy' types. They're actually very realistic people who have come a long way and developed in the storylines. But that isn't stopping me from feeling so attached, attracted to, and I have to say it, 'in love' with the character (I'll just call him 'John') that I made up!

I think it is the fact that he's SO realistic and ordinary that I've gotten attached to him. I almost feel like there is probably someone out there who's exactly like him- and that feeling makes me feel discontent with my own husband. :( I'd rather spend time writing than anything, and I even get annoyed when my husband comes to interrupt me when I'm in the middle of writing a new scene or chapter about John and Mary's lives. (Mary is a woman not unlike me, though with a few differences.)

Is this weird or crazy? I have been married 21 years. Never been unfaithful, and neither has he, but I do think our romance has gone dull and mundane. We have three kids and the oldest went away to college, so that tells you I'm probably too old to be this silly about a made-up character! :nono:

·
Registered
6,440 Posts
Does your book huge you back. How about the character that resides in your head and the pages. How is the cuddling going?

Your romance is dull because you are busy with John in a paperback book. Put the pen down and ask for a date from your H. Call him John if you need to.

·
Premium Member
4,093 Posts
You're not the only woman author who has had that problem.