Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
This is my first time joining a forum and asking advice from total strangers so here it goes Sorry its so long. My husband and I have been married for almost 3years. We met at work and at first I was not attracted to him at all. He soon began to grow on me and I fell in love with him. He was sweet, sensitive,and emotionally available. We had tons in common and we enjoyed all the same things. He had a good job and seemed to be heading in all the right directions. We married after 6months of dating and I honestly in my heart felt that he was "the one". About a month into our marriage (with me inbetween jobs) he told me that he couldn't take the stress and bs of his Job and wanted to quit. I told him to really think about it but told him I would support him either way. He did quit that job about a week later and took a job doing construction. Winter time was fast approaching and here in the north east there was not much consistent construction work to bring in the money to pay half the bills. Luckily, I was able to get some temporary work that got us through but it was very stressful. He eventually got hired at a company with 40 hrs, decent pay, and good health benefits for both of us. We were doing good. Around this time I noticed that he was beginning to consume more and more alcohol so I told him to watch it and cut back. We both socially drank in the beginning but he was starting to drink everyday at this point. He was a social drinker only when I met him. Over the course of the next year he began to hate his job and constantly complained about it. I was supportive and encouraged him to go back to school for something. He never did, making excuse after excuse as to why he couldn't. His drinking became worse and worse and he was now consuming about 2-3 large bottles of vodka a week, running directly to the fridge after coming home from work everyday. At this point d