Talk About Marriage banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,761 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My company is a small (200 employees) company. I am a manager. The HR department recently sent a 20 page survey to every employee and asked that we complete it by the end of the week. The survey asks very in depth probing questions about the nature of your job, how is your relationship with your superiors, why are you important to the company, how is what you do different than what anyone else does, what is your impression of your coworkers, etc.

My first thought was...this is just like the "Bobs" from Office Space. Only I would be surprised if we were going thru layoffs because we are rapidly growing and I just received authorization to hire 10 more people.

My second thought was...this was clearly written by the company lawyers (questions are circular, asking the same question many different ways, feels like a test you can't possibly pass). We are under litigation by a former employee with the dep't of labor for unpaid overtime wages. There are not enough questions on the survey about working overtime to make me think that's entirely what this is about.

I feel uneasy and suspicious. We were told that if we don't return the surveys, we wont get a year end review until we do, and that means no merit raises, bonuses or 401k profit sharing.

Has anyone else ever had to do something like this? Am I paranoid or does this seem a bit fishy to anyone else? I don't really have anyone else IRL to get a good perspective from. H is telling me I am making a big deal over nothing, shut up and do it so I don't miss out on bonus time.

Maybe I am making a big deal.

I have started to fill out the survey three times so far and stopped each time, there is no way I feel I can answer these questions without throwing someone under the bus, and I feel uncomfortable doing that. I don't trust that this will remain confidential, either.