Talk About Marriage banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I just discovered this forum today, and thought it might be beneficial to have a place to talk about my situation. First off, I'm a mid-western white male 45yrs old and I've been married for nearly 18 years to my wife who is about 5 yrs my junior and we have two children,14 and 7 yrs. Over the course of our relationship I have been gone more than I've been home. At first it was due to deployments and training as I was an active duty service member in the US Army. After ETS I took an oilfield job ( at her suggestion ) that has kept me away for several weeks at a time with shorter periods of home time...generally a week to two weeks and I've been doing this for about 15 yrs. This has been a very lucrative career, but of course I'd rather be at home more with my family.
Over the course of our relationship my wife has grown more and more distant, beginning in the first couple of years after transitioning to civillian life. I'll save the details for another post, but she essentially hasn't had any interest in me unless she was trying to become pregnant. Now, at 18 yrs into this, she has completely stopped even saying "love you" before bed, and we have little to no physical relationship. I can elaborate if anyone would like to talk about it, but obviously I am frustrated and feeling unwanted. Thanks for your time.

·
Premium Member
5,279 Posts
@TheUnwanted74,

I'll jump in with one thought: when a man is deployed, the lady is at home "holding down the fort" and kind of gets used to running the household and making her own decisions, etc. Then when the fella comes home, well he's used to the chain of command, and suddenly she's below him on the chain! All that time she had been "in charge" at home, and now even if the two of them get along great, there's still someone around to take into consideration.