Talk About Marriage banner

1 - 20 of 121 Posts

·
Premium Member
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Please bear with me. I am not good at these types of things. My wife and I have been married for just shy of 38 years. I am 66 and she is 62. We met in Japan while we were both in the Navy.

It has been a life of bliss, love and just a whole lot of fun. We retired when I was 37 and she was 33. We really, really retired. Was able to with my Navy retirement and rewards from my real estate purchases. We, then, travelled the world both inside and outside the United States. What a perfect time it has been.

We have two daughters that are presently 31. One gave birth to our first grandchild in 2016. Second grandchild two years later. I think I may have blown my relationship with my wife by concentrating so heavily on the first grandchild. I became addicted to the little girl and had her with me for 35-40 hours a week while her Mom worked.

Looking back, I believe that my attention and time spent with the grandchildren caused my wife to pursue other avenues of entertainment as I was taking care of the babies. Had I known, I would have put her first in every manner.

I was so blind with my grandchild that I did not become aware of my wife’s alcohol problem until a year ago. She, bravely, signed up for and completed an inpatient alcohol program. It has worked and she is alcohol free for the last year. But I believe that the damage was done.

Her days are spent working out, doing art, reading, listening to music and a whole bunch of things that are more solo. Her time for me is minimal now. Prior to this, we would spend 24/7 together. We are living in a big house and are now, basically, “together but separate.”

Life should be perfect but I miss my best friend, my soul mate and our talks. Now, we are mainly together when the grandchildren come visiting.

What can I do?